Fri, April 21, 2017 12:39 PM | Anonymous

Scientists responsible for the discovery of element 177 on the Periodic Table,and its naming as tennessine, were honored by the Tennessee Senate this week. The scientists included Dr. Robert Grzywacz, Dr. Krzysztof P. Rykaczewski, Dr. James Roberto and Dr. Joseph Hamilton. The discovery of tennessine, along with elements 113, 114, 115, 116 and 118, provides evidence for the long sought "island of stability," a concept that predicted nearly 50 years ago increased stabilities and much slower rates of decay for superheavy elements with higher numbers of neutrons and protons than those previously known. The presence of tennessine on the Periodic Table is also an affirmation of our state's standing in the international scientific community" as well as the knowledge and expertise of Tennessee's scientists and technicians. The recognition comes after passage of Senate Joint Resolution 2 by both Houses of the General Assembly and the signature of Governor Haslam. It pays tribute to the discovery and the roles of the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Vanderbilt University and the University of Tennessee in it.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software